热损耗

针对功率半导体的开关和导通损耗

Heat sink

散热和损耗评估是电力电子系统设计的重要方面,由于近年来对于高功率密度和紧凑封装的需求使得这方面的问题尤为突出。使用PLECS可以在设计的初级阶段同时模拟电路和散热部分,为最终特定运行环境的系统提供适当的散热方案。PLECS中开关损耗和导通损耗的计算以简单可靠的方式进行,仿真速度不会因此而降低。

为了决定开关损耗,PLECS 不仿真半导体开关瞬间的电压电流波形,而是记录下开关时刻之前和之后的工况(如导通电流,截止电压,结温等)。接下来利用这些数据从三维查表中读出损耗能量值。在开通状态下,导通损耗则由器件电流和节温计算得出。

通过理想开关模型和损耗数据库的结合,PLECS 无需建模半导体元件细节,热损耗仿真高效而精确。所需数据表格可以由集成在PLECS中的可视化编辑器输入。

热接口概念

热流元件库的核心是一个以半透明方框表示的热接口。热接口吸收由包含在方框范围内元件产生的损耗。同时,热接口还为包括在其内的元件构建独立的热环境并通过端口传递热量。

热等效网络

不同介质间的热传导使用集总参数的热阻和热容建模。用户可以自定义散热系统模型的细节程度。

Thermal Simulation

Accounting for Switching and Conduction Losses

Heat sink

Thermal management is an important aspect of power electronic systems and becomes more critical with increasing demands for compact packaging and higher power density. PLECS enables the user to include the thermal design with the electrical design at an early stage, providing a cooling solution suitable for each particular application. In addition, switching and conduction loss calculations are easily done. Simulation speed is not adversely affected during loss calculations since ideal switching is maintained.

Instead of determining semiconductor switching losses from current and voltage transients, PLECS records the semiconductor's operating condition (forward current, blocking voltage, junction temperature) before and after each switch operation. It then uses these parameters to read the resulting dissipated energy from a 3D look-up table. During the on-state, the dissipated power is computed from the device current and temperature.

This combination of ideal switch models with detailed loss data provides an efficient and accurate alternative to detailed device simulations. The required data tables are entered via PLECS' integrated visual editor.

Heat Sink Concept

The core component of the thermal library is an idealized heat sink depicted as a semi-transparent box. A heat sink absorbs the thermal losses dissipated by the components within its boundaries. At the same time, a heat sink defines an isotherm environment and propagates its temperature to the components it encloses.

Thermal Equivalent Network

Heat conduction from one heat sink to another or to an ambient temperature is modeled with lumped thermal resistances and capacitances connected to the heat sinks. This approach allows the user to control the level of detail of the thermal structural model.